Special Awards Decided for 2010 at Bowman Gray
Over $10,000 in awards given to competitors.

(Bowman Gray Stadium, Winston-Salem, NC) The competitors at Bowman Gray Stadium battle for each and every checkered flag, and they constantly keep their eyes on the points race as they vie to be declared the champion. But there are nearly two dozen other special awards that drivers strive for during the season at Bowman Gray Stadium.
            Tim Brown of Cana, VA brought home the ButlerBuilt Professional Seat Systems Grand Lap Award – awarded to the competitor who turned the fastest qualifying lap of the 2010 season. For his April 23 lap of 13.149 seconds, Brown receives $1,000 toward the purchase of a ButlerBuilt seat.
            Additionally, Tim Brown also won the most poles of the season: a total of seven. The accomplishment earns Brown $1,000 as the winner of the Winston-Salem Journal Pole King Award.
            Brown continues his hot streak, also winning the Davie Jewelers Modified Lap Leader Award for leading the most laps in the 2010 season. Brown wins a $1,000 Jewelry Shopping Spree to Davie Jewelers.
            The Marley Drug Modified Top Gun Award belongs to 2010 Modified Champion Burt Myers. Myers, a resident of Walnut Cove, claimed the checkered five times in 2010 and receives $1,000 as a result.
            Dean Ward of Winston-Salem receives the Law Offices of John Barrow, P.A. Modified Hard Charger Award, a $500 award given to the competitor who gains the most positions in the season. Ward grabbed the award at the last minute, tying Brian Loftin of Lexington and John Smith of Mount Airy during the last week of competition. The tie-breaker went to Ward for earning Hard Charger points most recently.
            In the Sportsman Division, Taylor Branch of Lewisville brought home the win an impressive five times in 2010. The accomplishment earned Branch the Kevin Powell’s Forsyth MotoSports Sportsman Top Gun Award. Branch wins an EF Yamaha iS Generator from Kevin Powell’s Forsyth Motosports.
            Derek Stoltz of Walkertown and Ronnie Clifton of Walkertown both flew through the field repeatedly in 2010, tying them for the Brad’s Golf Cars Sportsman Hard Charger Award. Stoltz takes the tie-breaker since his points were earned most recently, earning him the $500 prize.
            The Waffle House Street Stock Top Gun Award goes to David Sumner of Trinity. Sumner’s two victories put him in a four-way tie with John McNeal of Winston-Salem, Jody Fritts of Winston-Salem, and Matt Cotner of Rural Hall – but Sumner wins the tie-breaker with the most recent victory. Sumner wins $400.
            Billy Gregg of Winston-Salem grabs the Baity Tire Street Stock Hard Charger Award and $300 for gaining the most positions in the 2010 season.
            In the Stadium Stock Division, Dale Barneycastle of Mocksville claimed the checkered in the final race of the 2010 season. It was Barneycastle’s second win, tying him with Jason Keaton of Mocksville, Travis Brewer of Germanton, Brandon Brendle of Winston-Salem, Jimmy Absher of Rural Hall, and Ted Mickalowski of Mocksville. Barneycastle’s most recent win breaks the tie and gives him $200 and the 2010 Black Sand Company Stadium Stock Top Gun Award.
            Barneycastle also earns another $200 and the Dings & Dents Stadium Stock Hard Charger Award for gaining more positions than any other Stadium Stock competitor in the 2010 season.
            The Center for Clinical Research Rookie of the Year Award goes to Kevin Neal of Walkertown. Neal ended the season ranked fifth in the Sportsman Division, higher than any other rookie in any division. Neal takes home $500 for his ranking.
            The RH2way.com & Velocita-USA.com Most Improved Driver Awards are given to the competitors who improved the most in points standings between 2009 and 2010. Each winning competitor receives a fully custom-tailored driving suit. Lee Jeffreys of Wallburg wins for the Modified Division, Kyle Edwards of King for the Sportsman Division, Reggie Doub for the Street Stock Division, and Gerald Robertson wins this award for the Stadium Stock Division.
            The R+L Carriers Top Crew Chief Awards are determined by voting from fellow Stadium competitors, and the four crew chiefs receive a total of $1000. Marty Butner, crew chief for Randy Butner’s #5 Modified received the most votes for the Modified Division. Kenny Branch, who heads up the #86 team of Taylor Branch, is the Sportsman Top Crew Chief. Billy Cotner is the Street Stock Top Crew Chief for his efforts on Matt Cotner’s #27 car and Darren Cotner’s #9 car. In the Stadium Stock Division, Jason Keaton, crew chief for Ted Mickalowsi’s #60 and Rob Young’s #1 car, received the most votes.
            The top five competitors in the points standings for each division entering the July 10 event, the mid-way point of the season, received the Strutmasters.com Fast Start Challenge Awards – worth $100 for each competitor. Burt Myers, Lee Jeffreys, Tim Brown, Brian Loftin, and Jason Myers won for the Modified. For the Sportsman, Ryan Robertson, Kyle Edwards, Robbie Brewer, Derek Stoltz, and Ronnie Clifton took the awards. Matt Cotner, Billy Gregg, Reggie Doub, Zack Clifton, and John McNeal were the top five for the Street Stock Division. And in the Stadium Stock Division, Jimmy Absher, Wayne Hill, Dale Barneycastle, Jason Keaton, and A.J. Sanders won the Fast Start Challenge.